THE GIRL FROM LACE ISLAND

So here we are again – publication week.  It´s always a terrifying time for an author and after so many books, it never gets any easier, I can tell you. Which is why it´s so fabulous to get my first review.  This one from the lovely Laura Lockington.

The-Girl-from-Lace-Island-199x300.jpg

Oh my goodness! This has to be the perfect beach read. Sophisticated, glamorous, romantic and gripping. And with a rather beautiful cover that you won’t mind being seen with. There are two women, decades apart, their lives tangled with love and betrayal that are unknowingly linked through a tiny exotic island off the coast of India. In 1989, Leila who has known nothing but happiness on Lace Island, helping her mother keep her high flying glamorous guests happy is sent to boarding school in cold grey England. That’s when her troubles really start. Then, in 2016 we meet Jess who dreams of far off places and keeps a tattered poster on her wall of a beach with white sand, blue seas and palm trees. After the death of her best friend she finally gets her dream job as cabin crew, perhaps taking her to those places that she has only ever seen in pictures before. But then she meets the seemingly perfect Blaise, who captures her heart in a whirlwind relationship that catapults her into the world of the unscrupulous super rich. The two women meet up years later under extraordinary circumstances. I defy anyone not to enjoy this epic tale; it will have you reaching for your cold drink under the sun umbrella and slathering suntan lotion on whilst turning the pages. This is a big hearted book that leaves you walking on sunshine.

Joanna Rees will be appearing at The Bookish Supper Salon on September 14 . Tickets from Tabl.com

Read more at: http://brightonandhoveindependent.co.uk/girl-lace-island-joanna-rees/

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “THE GIRL FROM LACE ISLAND

  1. Rebecca instance

    Hi Joanna
    I have just finished reading the girl on lace island and I just had to message you to say how amazing it was. My daughter is 3 nearly 4 and since she has been born I haven’t managed to pick up many books. Ever since I was a little girl I liked nothing better than cosying up with a good book. I’d like nothing better but since ruby arrived I lost that part of me …I wanted to thank you for writing something so amazing that I couldn’t put it down I couldn’t wait to get to the end but also was saddened that it ended …it’s a book that will stay with me for a long time. So thank you x I’m now going to read some of your other titles xx

  2. Hi Rebecca – I cannot tell you how much your sweet message has made my day. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write to me. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed ‘The Girl From Lace Island’. As a writer, my whole aim is to write a book that transports my readers away, so I’m so chuffed to get your feedback. I’m currently working on my next book, ‘Behind The Hourglass’ which is set in the 1920’s so I’m channeling my inner flapper girl! That’ll be out early 2018 but next year, my Jo Rees titles, Platinum and Forbidden Pleasures are being re-released as Joanna Rees books, so look out for them. I’m a bit rubbish at updating my blog, but I’ll keep you posted. Have a lovely day with your daughter. I have three girls and I remember 3-4 just being so delightful an age. Enjoy it. It goes in a blink, believe me! Thank you again – love Jo xx

Leave a Reply

